A Capital Bridal Affair


Helloo my lovies!

Love is in the air and Bridal Season is again upon us.  There are soo many bridal events in the area but one of the best is The Capital Bridal Affair created by the lovely and talented Katie Asprovski.

I had a little conversation with Katie about why she started this fantastic event.  Here’s what she said:

What inspired you to start the Capital Bridal Affair?

Katie: It was really a combination of reasons that lead to my [very] impulse decision to start CBA. The seed was initially planted in my head after assisting my father, who is a photographer, with a bridal show in Southern MD. When I walked in there I thought to myself “if I had produced this event I would have done X, Y & Z differently”. Between the conclusion of that event and my one-hour ride home I made the impulse decision to purchase the domain name capitalbridalaffair.com.

Before my career change I had been on the other side of the table – as an exhibitor. So, having had that experience, I understood whole-heartedly how important it is to surround and brand yourself in ways – bridal shows included – so that you are surrounded by companies whom share the same high-standards as you do and ones who are established in a way that you aspire to be. I wanted this for CBA.

CBA should be a place where there are certain areas in which you have to excel – where you must qualify in order to participate. Which [I thought theoretically] would create an environment of passionate, honest, hard-working and talented wedding professionals all under one roof. One that we can confidently tell our attendees that “we did their homework” for them, because we actually had.

I wanted to create an environment where vendors and attendees would get what they’re paying for. High – quality vendors and attendees who respect them for it. Our vendors are all qualified based on a number of things including: the high-quality of product or service, customer care, reviews and accessibility (website and response time).

My inspiration began with wanting my dad to surround himself with other companies who were at of above “his level” and grew into wanting to help other small businesses grow and connect to excited brides who are qualified to shop their services, while simultaneously helping couples who are getting married make informed, educated decisions about where to invest their money for their wedding reception.

What you want brides and attendees to take away from the event?

Katie: As a bride myself and even when i initially made the transition into events and marketing – I found it challenging to know who was who – what they are doing, who does what, who over-charges, who will show up two hours late, who will get back to me quickly. For all of these reasons, we want out attendees to walk away from CBA knowing that they can confidently hire any of our exhibitors and that they will perform – as expected – for their big day.

What can brides look forward to in 2015?

Katie: With every show we listen to our vendors and attendees alike and make improvements for an over-all better experience. Next year, {March 1, 2015}, we will double the space allowing our exhibitors to “spread out” more – which will mean more food, more drinks, more visual displays of new wedding trends – BIG fashion show, live band performances, The Mayflower will also leave a much larger impression among guests with action food stations and beverages. 2015 is sure to be our best year yet!

For the highlight video from 2014’s Capital Bridal Affair click here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9c-KTHNW3Yc&feature=share

Well there you have it!  I captured my favorite vendors and cool things I saw at the show and I hope you enjoy them too!

Katie Asprovski

Singer

Exqusite Destinations

Sweet Blossom Cakes

Soft Box Media Photography

Hush Hush Proposals

Posh PR

Posh PR

Mayram Flowers

Sareh Nouri Bridal Gowns

IMG_0021 (2)

Too Blessed To Be Stressed Catering

IMG_0023

Geomyra Lewis Wedding Planner

Geomyra Lewis

IMG_0020

IMG_0025 (2)

IMG_0026 (2)

Toulies en Fleur Floral Design & Event Decor

IMG_0028

Dandelion Patch – Heidi Kallett

IMG_0032 (2)

IMG_0035

Hit me up on @KaraAllan on Twitter!  Are you getting married and have you attended other shows? What’s your experience been?

If you have a product you would like have shown here, or an event you want us to visit, let us know! Contact us at Kara@KaraAllan.com

Making the Life of Your Dreams, A Reality!

Ciao,

Kara

http://styleforhire.com/index.php?q=stylist/62

Leave a Reply

